There was a Culmstock church of some sort at least as far back as the 1100s and the present church dates in part from the 1200s. It stands on a prime site in the centre of one of the built-up areas, and has a unique yew tree growing out of the top of the flintstone tower.
There are eight bells, many stained glass windows, and all its points of interest are detailed in the church guide (£1 in church) and Church Diary (£4.50 in Strand Stores).
The attractive six-span Culmstock Bridge is probably referred to in a record dated 1250, and joins the 'town' area to the one containing the ancient mills. It is a favourite subject in photographs. There is more detail about it on page 20 of Culmstock Chapters (£5 in Strand Stores).
Culmstock Beacon is thought to date from the 1500s, when national beacons were readied to warn of a Spanish invasion. It is a flintstone structure rather like an old beehive with a hole at the top through which ironwork would protrude supporting a brazier. It is now thought to be a unique survival, certainly in Devon. More details are given on page 44 of Culmstock Chapters.